The Kansas City Royals have won 6 West Division Titles so far. They include 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1984, and 1985 titles.

The Kansas City Royals are a professional baseball team in Kansas City, Missouri, United States. The Royals are a member of the American League (AL) Central division in Major League Baseball (MLB). The team was established in 1969 as an expansion franchise and has been in four World Series, winning in 1985 and 2015 and losing in 1980 and 2014.

The name “Royals” is a nod to the American Royal, a cattle show, horse show, rodeo, and championship barbecue competition held in Kansas City every year since 1899, as well as the names of two previous Negro league baseball clubs from the early twentieth century. (One was a semi-pro club headquartered in Kansas City in the 1910s and 1920s that toured the Midwest, and the other was a California Winter League team managed by Chet Brewer in Los Angeles in the 1940s that had Satchel Paige and Jackie Robinson on its roster).

Although the Los Angeles club had personnel ties to the Monarchs, they were unable to utilize the Monarchs moniker. The name also falls into a trend for other professional sports clubs in the city, such as the NFL’s Kansas City Chiefs, the NBA’s defunct Kansas City Kings, and the Negro National League’s former Kansas City Monarchs.


Write A Comment