Why was NATO founded?

Following World War II,  NATO was established to limit the Soviet Union’s area of influence (which later disintegrated). Outside of the Western Hemisphere, NATO was the first peacetime military alliance formed by the United States.

A dozen European and North American countries signed the Alliance’s founding treaty in Washington in 1949. It pledges the Allies’ commitment to democracy, individual liberty, and the rule of law, as well as peaceful dispute resolution.

What is NATO?

NATO(The North Atlantic Treaty Organization) is a military organization founded in 1949 by the United States, Canada, and numerous Western countries to provide collective protection to its partners.

NATO’s 12 original members were the United States, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, and the United Kingdom.

The military organization currently has 30 members. In 2020, North Macedonia will become the newest member of NATO.

According to the organization’s website, “any additional European state in a position to further the ideals of this Treaty and contribute to the security of the North Atlantic area” is welcome to join.

NATO is committed to the peaceful resolution of disagreements, according to the website. It has the military power to conduct crisis-management operations if diplomatic attempts fail.

These are carried out under NATO’s founding treaty’s collective defense clause – Article 5 of the Washington Treaty – or under a UN mandate.



Write A Comment